top of page

About us

Freud Drums was founded in 2020 by Maximilian Zödl, Franz Stöger and Simon Harringer. The company's mission is to understand the sound requirements and acoustic ideas of percussionists and to reflect these in the form of instruments. This analytical way of thinking resulted in the name "Freud Drums", which is dedicated to Sigmund Freud's revolutionary psychoanalysis. We build a sound with very specific characteristics.

The sound, not the drum. Your sound, instead of a sound. The company's philosophy is based on the production of solid wooden instruments and the associated traditional drum construction method, which has a significant impact on the character and tonal qualities of the instrument. The quest to achieve an individual sound in our instruments is possible thanks to the combination of 25 years of sound research, studies in percussion and material science as well as acoustic and material analysis. Additionally, every small component contributes to the final sound of the instrument.

Through experiments, we were able to determine acoustic differences and properties of domestic and tropical wood species such as oak, maple, walnut, mahogany, padouk, etc. and to establish a correlation between wood type and shell height. These results were then categorized by musical styles, and some combinations were defined as “Freud standards”. Permanent research and development, innovations, and the study of the most important details such as the shape of bearing edge and snare bed give our instruments a unique sound. We translate your sound request into a technical description through material and psychoanalysis. In addition, you will not receive mass-produced goods from us, but an instrument that is individually tailored to you.

Freud_Drums_Logo_final.png
bottom of page

About us

Freud Drums wurde im Jahr 2020 durch Maximilian Zödl, Franz Stöger und Simon Harringer gegründet. Das Unternehmen hat es sich zur Aufgabe gemacht, Klangwünsche und akustische Vorstellungen von Schlagwerkerinnen und Schlagwerkern zu verstehen und diese in Form von Instrumenten zu reflektieren. Aus dieser analytischen Denkweise entstand der Name „Freud Drums“, welcher Sigmund Freuds revolutionärer Psychoanalyse gewidmet ist. Wir bauen einen Ton mit ganz bestimmter Charakteristik.

 

Den Sound, nicht die Trommel. Dein Klang, statt ein Klang. Die Firmenphilosophie basiert auf der Erzeugung von Vollholzinstrumenten und der damit verbundenen traditionellen Fassbauweise, welche sich wesentlich auf den Charakter und die klanglichen Eigenschaften des Instruments auswirkt. Das Bestreben nach dem individuellen Klang kann dank der Kombination von 25 Jahren Klangforschung, Studien in den Bereichen Schlagwerk und Werkstoffwissenschaften sowie Akustik- und Materialanalyse auf unsere Instrumente übertragen werden. Weiters trägt jedes kleine Bauteil zum finalen Klang des Instrumentes bei.

 

Durch Experimente konnten akustische Unterschiede und Eigenschaften von heimischen und tropischen Holzsorten wie z.B. Eiche, Ahorn, Nuss, Mahagoni, Padouk, etc. festgestellt und ein Zusammenhang zwischen Holzart und Kesselhöhe hergestellt werden. Diese Resultate wurden nach Musikrichtungen kategorisiert und einige Kombinationen als Freud-Standard definiert. Permanente Forschung und Entwicklung, Innovationen und der Untersuchung der wichtigsten Details wie z.B. der Form von Gratung und Snarebed verleihen unseren Instrumenten einen einzigartigen Klang. Wir übersetzen Ihren Klangwunsch durch Material- und Psychoanalyse in eine technische Beschreibung. Außerdem erhalten Sie bei uns keine Massenware, sondern ein Instrument, welches vollkommen individuell auf Sie abgestimmt ist.

Freud_Drums_Logo_final.png